img_20141115_131845

ATHLETE:  Richard Krott is an evening Sweatshopper turned sometimes Crossfitter.  He is becoming more interested in the illustrious barbell day by day, pretty soon I suspect he will be hooked!  Richard is a man of many talents, read below to learn more about him!  I am sure many of you will find you definitely have some things in common with him!

1. Where did you grow up?
Olean, NY (The Enterprising City with the Hometown Touch)

2. What is your athletic background?
Growing up: Little League Baseball, biking all over town and being outside a lot (ultra-competitive block-wide hide and seek anyone?), basketball (6th – 12th grade) and Track and Field (High Jump, Long Jump, 400m)
img_20160820_113621

3. How did you get started with CrossFit?
I have been a fan of functional fitness ever since seeing the behind the scenes documentary for the movie 300. Which eventually motivated me to work with a personal trainer for a few years until they got a new gig that didn’t mesh with my goals and schedule. I then took a few years off until I got fed up with myself and ended up searching for “crossfit 17011” and CrossFit 717 had the best SEO.

4. How long have you been at CrossFit 717?
November 2016 will be my two year anniversary

c31g9292

5. What is your favorite type of CrossFit workout (ex: AMRAP, EMOM, Chipper, etc.)?
AMRAP because it allows me to find my own pace and zone out until time expires rather than being focused on hitting or managing a prescribed limit.

6. What exercises/WODs do you dislike?
This list has been shrinking over the past two years: man-makers, anything inverted (handstand push-up, wall-walk, etc.), Hero WODs

7. What is your proudest CrossFit moment?
Earning the ability to do pull-ups after ignoring that muscle group my entire life.
img_20151121_220703-2

8. What is your biggest goal in life?
General: To live well. Never stop learning or being active.
Specific: Start my own business emphasizing work-life balance

9. Where did you go to high school/college?
Olean High School (Olean, NY)
Alfred State College (Alfred, NY)
Rochester Institute of Technology (Rochester, NY)

10. What is your current occupation?
Microsoft Practice Manager for Collective Intelligence, Inc. We are a small IT consulting firm that specializes in helping companies make their best use of portal and business intelligence technologies from concept to implementation.

11. Who is your favorite CrossFit Athlete?
I only have a passing familiarity with CrossFit athletes since I didn’t really take notice of the games’ many personalities until 2015. I really like all of the Icelandic competitors, but Sara Sigmundsdottir is my favorite because she is a self-professed “eater”.

12.  What is your favorite movie and why?
Fight Club had a great cast, interesting visuals, and I enjoyed the story and the twist of course. I keep going back not so much for the anarchy but for the emphasis on finding out who you really are and deciding what truly matters.

download_20151012_134148

13.  What is your favorite thing about CrossFit 717?
The people and community. Everyone I have met is friendly and supportive while the coaches push but respect your limits. I like feeling that we are in it together even if we don’t have the time or urge to socialize at times.

14.  What is your biggest pet peeve?
Internet outrage

15. What is one thing you have never done that we would be surprised about?
I never changed jobs after college. (16 years +)

16. Where is your favorite place that you have traveled to?
Vancouver, BC offers such a diverse mix of people, amenities, food and activities. Everyone I encountered was personable and loved being in such a large city that still felt connected to nature.

17. What would you say is your worst personality trait and why?
I procrastinate with the best of them and I am discovering through this interview that I am quite indecisive about how to answer things. Procrastination is so unproductive and only adds stress to situations given a long enough timeline. I mainly fall into it out of long-term habit but I am improving…the struggle is real.

img_20160206_121408

18. Did you or do you have a nickname? What’s the story behind it?
Big ‘ol Pimp from 1994 to about 1998. Before I started running the 400m regularly I filled in last minute during a meet and the coach told me it should be run as a sprint. No problem and leading the pack until the third turn when I hit the “wall” for the first time ever in my life. I lumbered along to a third or fourth place finish and proceeded to pass out in the infield. The music video for Snoop Dogg’s Doggie Dog World was popular at the time and when I made it back to my feet I was proclaimed to be a “Big ‘o Pimp” for being so damn smooth.

19. What is your favorite genre of music to workout to? What are your top 3 workout songs?
EDM
Ever since the rise of streaming online music it has taken away my need to build playlists or pick specific songs. Although I’m sure I have been observed singing along to Katy Perry or Rihanna.

20. Who has been the biggest influence on your life?
My family (Mother, Father, Sister). They of course had a big head-start on everyone else, but they have kept it consistent so as not to lose ground. I am very grateful for the solid example they have all put forth along with patient advice.

21. What do you feel is the most important invention in the past 100 years and why?
There has been an incredible amount of progress over the past century but the most important invention is the Internet. The ability to access the world’s information from virtually anywhere, disruption of established conventions, rapid communication, and countless other possibilities have all served to change our lives dramatically.

22. What are your hobbies and interests outside of the box?
I consume my fair share of popular culture (podcasts, video games, tv, movies, books) and enjoy getting together regularly with friends to play “modern” or deep board games. Typically this coincides with enjoying beers from the numerous breweries that exist in this golden age of craft beer. I have dabbled with home brewing from time to time but usually end up using my time in the kitchen cooking more standard fare.
Cooking things that incorporate cultures really interests me (sourdough, pickles, kombucha, cheese) and I like to use or preserve the vegetables I grow in my garden. This combined with my interest in building and home improvement spurred me to build a wood fired pizza oven which after 2 years I finally learned how to use effectively.
I like to be outside since most of my business and leisure tends to have me in front of a screen. So recently I started getting serious about section hiking the Appalachian Trail and taking time get out and kayak or canoe more often.
20140712_200107_androidimg_20150616_173639img_20150317_204959