WedPics_1433763074965
ATHLETE:
 Jocelyn Carpenter
You can find Jocelyn at the 4pm class most days, she is the one with the great engine and the contagious smile.  She isn’t in this week because she is on her HONEYMOON!  Jocelyn married her sweetheart, Justin, this past Saturday.  So when you see her next make sure you congratulate her…she will now be Jocelyn Lashley!

Where did you grow up? I grew up forty minutes south of Camp Hill, in a little place called, Lake Meade.

What is your athletic background? I have been a runner since middle school, but before sixth grade you would not have known it. I was not a healthy kid. I was overweight and unhappy. My parents noticed and they hired a dietitian/nutritionist to work with me, but that I had to stick with it, no matter how hard it would get. My mom was supportive and began preparing healthier foods, but also exercised with me to keep me from becoming discouraged. So in the beginning of that summer I weighed 174 pounds and by the end of the summer I weighed 134 pounds. Eating better and exercising changed my life. I learned valuable lessons about food during that time. My older brothers were in high school at this time and were runners and I started running too. I joined the track team in seventh grade and I have just kept going.

How did you get started with CrossFit? I finally moved to Camp Hill (after commuting for four years) in July of 2013 and quickly realized running in this area was very different then the country roads I had been accustomed. I needed a change and motivation so after some research I decided to try CrosFit.

How long have you been at CrossFit 717? Labor Day of 2013

IMG_8572

What are your favorite exercises/WODs? Russian kettle bell swings and squats they are the worst, but “squats are a girl’s best friend”

What exercises/WODs do you dislike? Thrusters, yuck! And box jumps, I hate falling and the anxiety of actually falling makes me despise box jumps.

What are you goals with regards to CrossFit and what accomplishments/PRs are you most proud of? My goal with CrossFit, honestly is to just keep showing up for WODs. Since starting my overall endurance has changed and I run faster.

In your perfect world, what would you be doing in 10 years? Married, one or two kiddos, a little bit bigger of a house with kind of a rural setting so I can have a big vegetable garden. And either in that house or in another building have a spacious art studio that is not in my unfinished basement.

Where did you go to high school/college? I attended Bermudian Springs High School and graduated in 2003. Then went to Penn State University and graduated in 2007 with my bachelor of fine arts degree. Then about a year after graduation, I went to Shippensburg University for a year, to obtain my art education certification in 2009. And now I just wrapped up my masters of arts in art education degree at Messiah College.

What is your current occupation? I am an art educator in the Camp Hill elementary schools.

If you could eat dinner with 3 people past or present, who would you choose and why?  Furthermore, what would you order for dinner? Lets cut to what is most important here; I would order filet mignon, sweet potato fries, sautéed mushrooms, and steamed spinach. The eating dinner with people is a question I’ve never thought about. It may be strange, but I would want to eat dinner with my deceased relatives because I miss them.

Who is your celebrity crush? I like Jon Hamm, he plays the lead role of Don Draper in Mad Men (one of my favorite shows).

What is your favorite movie and why? I love Wes Anderson and my favorite one of his is The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou. I love it because a) Bill Murray b) the soundtrack c) the set design. I’m a big fan of movies and shows that have a mid-century vintage appeal. I was born in the wrong era.

What is your favorite thing about CrossFit 717? I’m held accountable, I need to come or I am just throwing my money away. It is not like a normal gym, people and even the coaches care when they don’t see me for awhile. I also like that I am stronger and faster than ever before!

If you could have any car, what would you choose? 1965 baby blue Mustang convertible with a white top

Tell us something interesting about yourself that we would be surprised to know.  Number 2 was probably a pretty big surprise, that’s enough for now.

What kind of shampoo do you use and why? This is a weird question, whatever I have a coupon for or whatever was in my Christmas stocking.

Have you ever been out of the country? If so, where and what was your favorite place? Yes, Belgium, France, and the Netherlands, I enjoyed them all because every place I went I was immersed in art and history. Walk into any old church in any town and history/art history is everywhere. I have a feeling when I get to Italy I will have sensory overload.

What were your best and worst subjects in school? My best and favorite subjects included band, chorus, history, and art class. My worst classes were math and science.

What would you say is your worst personality trait and why? I’m hard on myself.

If you won $100 million in the lottery, what would you do with the money? What is the first frivolous thing you would buy? I would give a lot of it away to different charitable organizations that help people in need (food banks, shelters, St. Jude’s, etc). I would also give a huge chunk to the Alzheimer’s Association since I have lost many loved ones due to Alzheimer’s and dementia. I would make a huge donation to cancer research too. Then pay off all of my (and my husband’s) student loans. I would pay off friends and family student loans too. And then finally for myself I would buy a beach house in Topsail Island, NC and in Rehoboth Beach, DE where all and any of my family members and friends could go whenever they wanted.

WedPics_1433679272815

You are banished to a deserted island for a month and can only bring one person (fictional or real) and one album with you.  Who do you bring and what album do you choose (keep in mind I said album, not song)? I would bring my husband, Justin, and the album would be My Morning Jacket’s Okonokos (live album).

Who do you consider your role model or inspiration and why? Definitely my parents, their unconditional love, support, and guidance has provided me with a great life.  They taught me the importance of hard work and work ethic, but they have also supported my choices (no matter how stupid the choices may have been) throughout my life.

What do you feel is the most important invention in the past 100 years and why? Laundry machine! It may be older than 100 years old at this point, but it is a must! I despise hand washing my “hand washable only” clothing…I cannot imagine having to do all my laundry by hand.

What are your favorite sports teams (you can list all teams for all sports you are a fan of)? Honestly, eh, sports are OK.

What are your hobbies and interests outside of the box? Obviously as an art educator I am an artist. So, I like to hide out in my basement studio and work on my own personal artwork. I also love, LOVE to cook and keep a vegetable garden. Where I live right now, a garden is not easy because of the prolific bunny population, so I haven’t even tried.

WedPics_1433679289196 (1)